90. Prawn bisque with basil & brandy

Home Cooking Made Easy p129

This recipe requires raw shell-on prawns, which for me were impossible to find. Not even the fish man on the market had any. In the end I settled for cooked shell-on prawns from Morrisons, as the point is really simmering the shells for about 30 minutes.

After about 5 minutes of this recipe, I had decided I was never cooking this again. I found peeling the prawns disgusting and confusing – what was I supposed to do with the heads, what about any green bits, what about the caviar-style egg stuff? I got quite nauseous.

You use the shells and some fish stock with some garlic, onion, tomato puree, brandy and cream to make a rich stock. And then you sieve it, add some flour to thicken it, and the whole (peeled) prawns. Serve with some basil.

The taste was fantastic – a rich, creamy, prawny taste. It was worth the effort, but only just!

2012-12-12 12.18.59

 

Leave a Reply

