47. Bacon & mature Cheddar cheese twisties

Home Cooking Made Easy p12 Today, proof (as if you needed it) that I am destined for cookery fame. I own the same cardigan as Rose Prince who does the Telegraph’s Baking Club.

Respected food journalist
Rose Prince, Telegraph columnist

I have a glittering career ahead of me. That sorted, let’s get on to today’s recipe for bacon and mature cheddar twisties, recipe here.

I bought ready-rolled pastry which was the right weight but the wrong dimensions so I just folded it up a bit and re-rolled. You then spread with some mustard (I’m not a big fan, so I used Dijon, but you couldn’t taste it, so maybe I would go for English next time), sprinkle with grated Cheddar, and a pinch of cayenne pepper and lay out the bacon in a row, with tiny gaps between. I had to fold mine a bit to make it fit nicely and I could only fit in 10.

Cut down the gaps so you have 10-14 strips of pastry and cheese topped with bacon. Twist each strip and place on baking trays.

I used a roasting tin and a baking sheet so I could stack them

and they’d fit in the fridge nicely to firm up. Then brush with egg wash and cook for about 20 minutes.

Easy and quick for lunch or a party.

 

Leave a Reply

